Dark times, dry places, panting hearts, thirsting, being cast down and patience

 

 

Rom 8:18-28 KJ2000  For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.  (19)  For the earnest expectation of the creation waits for the manifestation of the sons of God.  (20)  For the creation was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who has subjected the same in hope,  (21)  Because the creation itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God.  (22)  For we know that the whole creation groans and travails in pain together until now.  (23)  And not only they, but ourselves also, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, that is, the redemption of our body.  (24)  For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man sees, why does he yet hope for?  (25)  But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it.  (26)  Likewise the Spirit also helps our weakness: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought but the Spirit himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.  (27)  And he that searches the hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because he makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.  (28)  And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Psa 42:1-11 KJ2000  [To the Chief Musician.  A maschil, for the Sons of Korah.] As the hart pants after the water brooks, so pants my soul after you, O God.  (2)  My soul thirsts for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?  (3)  My tears have been my food day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is your God?  (4)  When I remember these things, I pour out my soul within me: for I had gone with the multitude, I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude that kept holyday.  (5)  Why are you cast down, O my soul? and why are you disturbed within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.  (6)  O my God, my soul is cast down within me: therefore will I remember you from the land of Jordan, and of the Hermonites, from the hill Mizar.  (7)  Deep calls unto deep at the noise of your waterfalls: all your waves and your billows are gone over me.  (8)  Yet the LORD will command his lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.  (9)  I will say unto God my rock, Why have you forgotten me? why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?  (10)  As with a sword in my bones, my enemies reproach me; while they say daily unto me, Where is your God?  (11)  Why are you cast down, O my soul? and why are you disturbed within me? hope in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

Psa 100:1-5 KJ2000  [A Psalm of Praise.] Make a joyful noise unto the LORD, all you lands.  (2)  Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing.  (3)  Know you that the LORD he is God: it is he that has made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.  (4)  Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.  (5)  For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endures to all generations.

 

Eph 1:16-23 KJ2000  Cease not to give thanks for you, making mention of you in my prayers;  (17)  That the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give unto you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of him:  (18)  The eyes of your understanding being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of his calling, and what is the riches of the glory of his inheritance in the saints,  (19)  And what is the exceeding greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his mighty power,  (20)  Which he performed in Christ, when he raised him from the dead, and set him at his own right hand in the heavenly places,  (21)  Far above all principality, and power, and might, and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this age, but also in that which is to come:  (22)  And has put all things under his feet, and gave him to be the head over all things to the church,  (23)  Which is his body, the fullness of him that fills all in all.

Psa 23:1-6 KJ2000  [A Psalm of David.] The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not lack.  (2)  He makes me to lie down in green pastures: he leads me beside the still waters.  (3)  He restores my soul: he leads me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  (4)  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for you are with me; your rod and your staff they comfort me.  (5)  You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies: you anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.  (6)  Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

 

Psa 46:1-3 KJ2000  [To the Chief Musician for the sons of Korah.  A song upon alamoth.] God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  (2)  Therefore we will not fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;  (3)  Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah.

 

Psa 46:10-11 KJ2000  Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.  (11)  The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

*

 

Preceding article: Dark Times and Dry Places

+++

  • Light to My Path (theencouragementexpress.com)
    Some of you have been asking the Lord for direction. Go to Bible and seek it out. Go through the prophetic words and promises you’ve received. The path will become clear. Ask for grace, and the Lord Jesus Christ will fill you with the grace and courage you need to walk and stay on this path.
  • SOS, Serving Our Savior (news.sosevents.org)
    Many people ask what the meaning of SOS is, Serving Our Savior is what the letters stand for, but more importantly it is what the team members feel in their hearts.
  • (Usus Antiquior) Quinquagesima Sunday (II Classis) – Sunday, 15 February 2015 : Offertory, Secret Prayer of the Priest, Communion and Post-Communion Prayer (petercanisiusmichaeldavidkang.com)
    Blessed are You, o Lord, teach me Your justifications. With my lips I have pronounced all the judgments of Your mouth.
  • fallow deer in the psalms (brucefong.wordpress.com)
    The deer that is in the image of the psalmist may very well be the Fallow Deer.  It is indigenous to the Israel.The Fallow Deer with its spotted, chocolate, black or white coat is a beautiful animal.  It can run at spurts of speed up to 30 mph.  Striking palmated antlers are sported by the bucks of the herd.  Think of this deer when this psalm crosses into your mind.
  • God is. (activeinspiration.wordpress.com)
    God is, everything, He’s faithful, dependable, He is always with us, He loves us beyond what we can imagine, He forgives us, He carries out our vengeances, He sustains is, and whatever ever you would like to add. God is infinite in how He cares for us, and yes we joyfully sing.
  • To deep for words (genesisone.wordpress.com)
    God speaks to us in so many ways, not least in and through our everyday exposure to His creation. It is a message worth perceiving, believing and receiving. It is worth our deepest response.“O Lord my God, When I in awesome wonder,
    Consider all the works Thy hands have made;
    I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,
    Thy power throughout the universe displayed.
    Then sings my soul, My Saviour God, to Thee,
    How great Thou art, How great Thou art.”
  • Observations on Psalm 111 (purifyingfires.com)
    Verses 2-4:
    6. God’s workings are so marvelous they cannot be forgotten
    7. Those who love God delight in and seek out His wondrous works
    8. The nature and character of God is justice and holiness
  • Are Humans Merely Sophisticated Programmed Robots? (humansarefree.com)
    Everything in this Virtual Reality works on programming – everything! Programming can be man-made, but most of it originates elsewhere. Often people accept things happening around them as being “the way things are”. Few suspect that they are programmed to accept “the way things are”.
  • God Turns Darkness Into Light (divinedirection.typepad.com)
  • God is not the author of confusion (bummyla.com)

4 Comments

Filed under Being and Feeling, Lifestyle, Quotations from Holy Scriptures, Religious affairs

4 responses to “Dark times, dry places, panting hearts, thirsting, being cast down and patience

  1. Pingback: Ambassadors showing hope and a world of peace – Jeshua-ists

  2. Pingback: Today’s thought “Therefore nations will praise you forever …” (January 25) – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

  3. Pingback: Is there a place for God when there is love for money – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

  4. Pingback: Today’s thought “Thanksgiving for God’s Justice” (January 04) – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.