When love to God grows weak remember His son

Ben Topham visited Mississauga West last Sunday and one of his favourite hymns was played. He writes

Considering what has happened on the earth over the past six months – God gently nudged me. The words, the power, the humility, the suffering, the music… it is always moving.

Hymn 222

When my love to God grows weak,
When for larger faith I seek,
Then in thought I go to thee,
Garden of Gethsemane.

There I walk amid the shades
While the lingering twilight fades;
See that suffering, friendless One
Weeping, praying, there alone.

When my love for man grows weak,
When for stronger faith I seek,
Hill of Calvary! I go
To thy scenes of pain and woe.

There behold his agony
Suffered on the bitter tree;
See his anguish, see his faith,
Love triumphant still in death!

Then to life I turn again,
Learning all the worth of pain,
Learning all the might that lies
In a full self-sacrifice.

*

Music
http://christadelphianmusic.org/hymns/216-223/

 

+++
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

