I wandered lonely as a cloud

Inspired by an event on 15 April 1802, written some time between 1804 and 1807 (in 1804 by Wordsworth’s own account) the six-line stanzas where first published in 1807 and a revised version was published in 1815. This poem became commonly known as “The Daffodils

I wander’d lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host of golden daffodils,
Beside the lake, beneath the trees
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretch’d in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced, but they
Out-did the sparkling waves in glee: –
A poet could not but be gay
In such a jocund company!
I gazed – and gazed – but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought.

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills
And dances with the daffodils.

William Wordsworth 1770–1850

  • Daffodils…summary,analysis and Sample Waec/neco Question and Answer (100) (lagosbooksclub.wordpress.com)
    He once said, “Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings: it takes its origin from emotion recollected in tranquility”. William Wordsworth wrote Daffodils on a stormy day in spring, while walking along with his sister Dorothy near Ullswater Lake, in England. He imagined that the daffodils were dancing and invoking him to join and enjoy the breezy nature of the fields.
    +
    The idea of remembering the beauty of nature even when not in its presence appears in several of Wordsworth’s later poems, including “Tintern Abbey,” “Ode; Intimations of Immortality,” and “The Solitary Reaper.” Even though the speaker is unable to appreciate the memory he is creating as he stands in the field, he later realizes the worth that it takes on in sad and lonely moments.
  • Featured Poem: Daffodils by William Wordsworth (thereaderonline.co.uk)
    This week’s poem, Daffodils by William Wordsworth, is a favourite amongst staff here at The Reader Organisation, and a poem regularly used in groups. Through the beautiful language of this poem, Wordsworth powerfully communicates his appreciation for the undeniably mesmerising nature of daffodils.
  • “Such a Jocund Company”: Scanning Wordsworth’s “Daffodils” (allninemuses.wordpress.com)
    One of my dear fellow Muses always appreciates it when I do a close reading of a poem, trying to open it up as I break it into its component parts. And as a teacher, this usually happens fairly naturally, both in and out of the classroom. I find that a fair bit of truth arises when I analyze in order to arrive at interpretation and, hopefully, even application.
  • And then my heart with pleasure fills, and dances, with the daffodils. (simonemesham.wordpress.com)
    So because I know you have all been anxiously wondering and eagerly anticipating an update on my flowers, and because they delight me so they truly do, a few snaps taken recently below
  • Inspired By My Mother-In-Law’s Daffodils (newfoundlandtraveller.wordpress.com)
    Yesterday I picked ten daffodils from Mrs. Mary’s garden. She has been dead over five years and the daffodils continue to inspire me every year.  Her wild roses surround the daffodils but they continue to thrive. Last night my husband and I picked the daffodils because lately I’ve enjoyed seeing flowers at the dinner table and anywhere in my house actually!
  • Deprivation is for me what daffodils were for Wordsworth. Philip Larkin . wordsworth born today in 1770. (benbenw10.wordpress.com)
    Earth has not anything to show more fair:
    Dull would he be of soul who could pass by
    A sight so touching in its majesty:
  • William Wordsworth (blog7b2.wordpress.com)
    William Wordsworth (7 April 1770 – 23 April 1850) was a major English Poet. Wordsworth’s magnum opus is generally considered to be The Prelude, a semi-auto-biographical poem of his early years which he revised and expanded a number of times.
  • Friday Poem – Upon Westminster Bridge (diaryofawonderfulgeekette.wordpress.com)
    Never did sun more beautifully steep
    In his first splendour valley, rock, or hill;
    Ne’er saw I, never felt, a calm so deep!
    The river glideth at his own sweet will:
    Dear God! the very houses seem asleep;
    And all that mighty heart is lying still!
  • William Wordsworth and Ledges (ellenllewellyn.wordpress.com)
    Meandering on the beach up in Maine I came upon a spot of yellow moss growing on a ledge, a patch of moss that has been expanding in a mossy way over the years that I’ve spent walking along those ledges. Though, this time a Wordsworth poem came immediately to my mind. “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud” also known as “Daffodils”.
  • Parnassian Moments 7 April: William Wordsworth (theboipoet.wordpress.com)
Leave a comment

Filed under Being and Feeling, Nature, Poetry - Poems

Leave a Reply

