Loneliness (as seen by Tess Connor)

English: The loneliness of Culloden Culloden i...

“The loneliness of Culloden Culloden is one of the few areas that I leave feeling full of sadness. This lonely tree at the sight says it all.” (Wiki writer) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Loneliness

A lonely flower in a field
A lonely child does not yield
A lonely star in the night sky
A lonely man gives up to die
A lonely car in a lonely street
A lonely girl admits defeat
The loneliness affects us all
A gutless fight, a pitless fall
A lonely time in my daily routine
Sets the tone; a deserted scene
A lonely cow under a lonely tree
A lonely soldier, this is me

Tess Connor

Tess Connor is a low self-esteemed high school girl. She finds herself in a new, deeper pit of depression each day while attempting to escape through sport, arts and literature. She also suffers depression, anxiety, anorexia and from daily life.

+++

  • Lonely or Alone? (nibhz.wordpress.com)
    I have become the latest victim of loneliness and along with it the demons of the self-doubt, self-criticism and good-for-nothing feeling have become the unwelcomed visitors of my mind.
    You know there is a small line between being alone and being lonely; and I often cross that. It would take just a few seconds and I would be standing on the other side of the line feeling unwanted. Why so? May be just because I observe and overthink every little thing. Its not that I hate being alone, I savor those moments too but the feeling lonely has become more of an habit now. 😦
  • The Lone Wanderer (miemb.wordpress.com)
    Whether it’s the horse or the centaur who’s the wanderer is up to you.
  • The Lonely God (pangeanpoetry.wordpress.com)
    At the top of the world
    The Wind howls in protest
    to the lonely god.
    “End their pain” she screams.
  • The Lonely Road (mommyhoodactivated.wordpress.com)
    I wrote about the change we made a while ago to our daily routine, but guess what, it lasted for a few weeks, before we both succumbed to the old routine – of commuting together in one car. Other than taking out one car from jamming  the road towards the city centre, I was just blessed to have him around for an additional two hours every day.
  • Ryan Hemsworth and Tinashe Get Lonely on “One For Me” (thefader.com)
    Hemsworth lives large, but always rolls solo, and Tinashe’s airy vocals support a visual that’s as melancholy as it is monotonous.
  • Lonely and Depressed… (honestgoodadvice.wordpress.com)
    I’ve just been depressed lately and I feel I just need to get this off my chest. I’m a 16 (nearly 17) year old guy, my dad died when I was around 2, all that is left is my mom and sister, they both care alot about me but they’re both extremely short tempered and order me around which get on my nerves and I feel detached from them most of the time. I had kind of a lonely childhood, I rarely get along with others and was most of the last left out, except elementary/primary 4-6 where I got along with pretty much everyone, I had couple of very close friends, I have no problems at school and it was probably the happiest time of my life.Then I went to high school, everything just dropped, my old friends were all transferred to other schools, I can’t get along with anyone, got in trouble a couple times, it was just hard.
    +
    If you have already touched base with your best friend back in school you should reach back out to him again, see if he wants to hang out. There is nothing wrong with feeling down you shouldn’t feel ashamed. Everyone experiences some form of depression or feeling low once in a while in thier lives. You aren’t alone 🙂
  • Being Married Can Be Lonely Too (pickingalover.wordpress.com)
    Single people are not necessarily socially isolated. If they live by themselves, they may spend a considerable amount of their time in solitary pursuits, but they do not necessarily feel lonely. Even the divorced or the widowed, who were once used to someone sleeping on the other side of a big king-size bed, are not necessarily lonely in their daily routines. They may have many activities, many friends, and many options. Often, they have social schedules, which are almost too crowded with meetings and entertainment.
  • Feeling lonely linked to increased risk of dementia in later life (eurekalert.org)
    “Interestingly, the fact that ‘feeling lonely’ rather than ‘being alone’ was associated with dementia onset suggests that it is not the objective situation, but, rather, the perceived absence of social attachments that increases the risk of cognitive decline,”
    +
    loneliness may affect cognition and memory as a result of loss of regular use, or that loneliness could itself be a sign of emerging dementia, and either be a behavioural reaction to impaired cognition or a marker of undetected cellular changes in the brain.
  • The Lonely Dog (jenniferlthorpe.wordpress.com)
    This dog doesn’t need companionship. He just is. He lives his life in routine of finding nourishment and water, obtaining only what he needs. Not even sure that he remembers what human love once was. Perhaps, he never did.
  • How to overcome loneliness during the holidays (voxxi.com)
    “Loneliness is not only painful emotionally but it can have a devastating impact on one’s long term psychological and physical health,” stated Guy Winch, Ph.D., for Psychology Today. “Loneliness predisposes us to depression and increases our risk of Alzheimer’s disease, it suppresses our immune system functioning, it stresses our cardiovascular systems, and when chronic, it affects our very longevity.”
1 Comment

Filed under Being and Feeling, Health affairs, Poetry - Poems

One response to “Loneliness (as seen by Tess Connor)

  1. Pingback: Being in isolation #2 Looking at the word “Isolation” – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a Reply

